Key Lime and a Special French Bubbly

Apologies for my absence last week. I’m in the throes of busy season and only now beginning to see the light at the end of the tunnel. Luckily I was able to find some time this week to celebrate two crazy, wonderful years with my boyfriend. He surprised me with a bottle of Nicolas Feuillatte, a champagne that I’d been meaning to try for a while. That being said, the post below is a total lie. Tune in NEXT week for chocolate chili and a fun Rosé 🙂

Nicolas Feuillatte makes a mean champagne. We sipped on the Brut Reserve, which had the most incredible body. The company’s Website sums it up perfectly:

“The Brut Réserve is a Champagne that subtly focuses on shades of white fruits and spices, and whose refined character is a constant source of surprise.”

Apple, pear, peach, CURRY, and tumeric spices. Curry. I was pleased as punch.

nicolas 1

I’m still on the hunt for a good fruity cupcake for my mom’s wedding. In such a complex champagne, I wanted to highlight its citrus flavors. This week’s choice- Key lime. I wanted to shy away from the thick, custardy tang that you generally get with key lime and instead bring out tart tangy flavors that I achieved by utilizing copious amounts of fresh squeezed lime juice. Recipe that inspired, here. I chose a cream cheese frosting and garnished with a slice of lime. Next time my goal is to candy the slices of lime on top.

lime 1

lime 2

Hope everyone has a wonderful week!

Cheers,
Jenna

One thought on “Key Lime and a Special French Bubbly

Leave a comment